April 23, 2024

Dragon Esdelsur

Home Sweet Home

OHSAA track and field championships: Winners from Northeast Ohio

In all, Northeast Ohio schools took home 38 individual and relay state championships on the weekend, including three by Shackelford.

COLUMBUS, Ohio — After having to be moved last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the OHSAA track and field championships returned to Columbus’ Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium this weekend. As always, Northeast Ohio schools littered the final leaderboards.

Let’s start with a continuing dynasty in Cleveland, as Glenville’s boys team took home the state title in Division II. It’s the program’s 17th top finish in its storied history, and the seventh under legendary head coach Ted Ginn Sr.

RELATED: More high school sports coverage from WKYC

The Tarblooders were led by their 4×200-meter relay squad of Milique Herron, Jamari Townsend, Joe Larkins, and Bryce West, who took first with a time of 1:27.40. After narrowly finishing second at least year’s meet, Glenville took the top spot by 10 points over Keystone this time around.

Over in Division III, it was the Norwayne boys who took home their first-ever state track championship (and just the school’s second in any team sport), edging McDonald by a mere two points. Brothers Colby and Dillon Morlock put on a show, with Colby winning the discus championship and Dillon finishing atop the discus standings, which each respectively finishing right behind his sibling in both events.

In all, local schools won 38 individual or relay titles across Friday and Saturday. Keystone star Ryne Shackelford had the most with victories in the D-II boys 100-meter dash, 200-meter dash, and long jump.

Division I


  • 400-meter dash: Connor Boland, Geneva
  • 3,200-meter run: Thomas Rice, Plain GlenOak
  • 4×200-meter relay: Stow-Munroe Falls (Dustin Horner, Xavier Preston, Brian Turner, Bryce Turner)
  • Discus: Jakob Oldenburg, Solon


  • 800-meter run: Morgan Monesmith, Hathaway Brown
  • 1,600-meter run: Morgan Monesmith, Hathaway Brown
  • 3,200-meter run: Katie Clute, Olmsted Falls
  • 4×800-meter relay: Medina (Mia Henie, Kayla Kutcel, Jenna Razavi, Rachel Smith)
  • Pole vault: Kendal Fisher, Perry (Stark County)
  • Discus: Madelyn Moretti, Madison
  • Shot put: Madelyn Moretti, Madison

Division II


  • 100-meter dash: Ryne Shackelford, Keystone
  • 200-meter dash: Ryne Shackelford, Keystone
  • 800-meter run: Brian Bates, Notre Dame-Cathedral Latin
  • 1,600-meter run: Colin Ceransky, Marlington
  • 4×100-meter relay: Hawken (Christian Anderson, Andrew, Bukovnik, Jordan Harrison, Dominic Johnson)
  • 4×200-meter relay: Glenville (Milique Herron, Jamari Townsend, Joe Larkins, Bryce West)
  • 4×400-meter relay: Beachwood (Caleb Berns, Braylen Eaton, Mattix Revells, David Steckner)
  • 4×800-meter relay: Marlington (Liam Blake, Cohen Boyce, Colin Cernansky, Noah Graham)
  • High jump: Sean Kaminski, Huron
  • Long jump: Ryne Shackelford, Keystone
  • Pole vault: David Adams, Indian Valley
  • Discus: Josiah Cox, New Franklin Manchester
  • Shot put: Josiah Cox, New Franklin Manchester


  • 100-meter dash: Kya Epps, St. Vincent-St. Mary
  • 200-meter dash: Kya Epps, St. Vincent-St. Mary
  • 100-meter hurdles: DaMya Barker, Buchtel
  • 300-meter hurdles: DaMya Barker, Buchtel
  • 4×400-meter relay: Beaumont (Candace Johnson, Patricia O’Neill, Deasia Washington, Mariya Washington)
  • High jump: Jenna Young, Brooklyn
  • Discus: Morgan Hallett, Norton
  • Shot put: Morgan Hallett, Norton

Division III


  • Discus: Colby Morlock, Norwayne
  • Shot put: Dillon Morlock, Norwayne


  • 1,600-meter run: Caleigh Richards, Maplewood
  • 4×100-meter relay: Margaretta (Jana Berg, Macyn Phillips, Olivia Saylor, Kenna Stimmel)
  • Pole vault: Kenna Stimmel, Margaretta

Seated division


  • Shot put: Elena Knowles, Plain GlenOak